Austen In New Orleans


I finished this series a little while ago, maybe April? It was something I had read on in high school. I remembered it taking forever to read – clearly, it’s three novels worth! – but I couldn’t remember the vast majority of the details. So, I asked for these for Christmas. The third book is undoubtedly the best – the major plot line in book one isn’t the best, to be honest – and at times, I felt like it was quite apparent that it was written by a man. But all of the information about New Orleans and Katrina is excellent and I’m always a sucker for Lizzy and Darcy.


The Crescent City series is a three book Jane Austen Alternate Universe epic written by Jack Caldwell. The series takes place in New Orleans in the late ’90’s through the early ’00s, placing its characters in college and following them beyond – barrelling them toward the catastrophic 2005 Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath. Characters from all of Austen’s novels can be found within the pages, though Caldwell focuses primarily on Pride and Prejudice’s Elizabeth Bennet (now Boudreaux), Sense and Sensibility’s Marianne Dashwood, and Emma’s Emma Woodhouse (now Weinberg). There is also a prequel of sorts entitled The Plains of Chalmette, which takes place during the War of 1812.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s