The Voice Of Night Vale

nightvale

I read this in February and decently quickly, too. I have only ever listened to one of the Night Vale podcasts, but I’ve always been interested in the concept. The only way I can listen to a story without something visual to go with it is to literally be doing nothing else while listening. It takes more effort than I’m game to put in for entertainment. When they came out with a book, though, I knew it’d treat me better. Overall, it was very engaging. I wasn’t entirely satisfied by the end, but there were plenty of sentences scattered throughout that make it all worthwhile.

Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor is a novel based on the podcast of the same name. The story follows two very different women – perpetually 19-year-old Jackie and PTA mom Diane – trying to solve the mystery of slips of paper that stick in residents’ hands, the words King City written on them, and a man in a tan coat that no one can remember.

Leave a Reply

