USS North Carolina

ussnc1

Also from our beach trip this summer. I know I’ve been to the battleship before, but it was when I was so much younger that I had no recollection of it. K and I had driven through the parking lot earlier in the year, so I was more than a little eager to visit. We didn’t go all over, with two kids and the heat, but still, memorials are always good. This photo was an after thought, as I was taking a photo from up above of mom and dad and little T. I only had a few seconds to get a shot before another group came into view, so I didn’t have a chance to really try to get something in it – aside from the deck itself, I mean. The wishing well photo might be more interesting, but it’s quality’s not as good (with K, little M, and mom) – a good 75 cents given to the depths below deck, anyway.

ussnc2

The USS North Carolina was active for just over six years, spanning the majority of the 1940s. The battleship was engaged in all major naval offenses in the Pacific theater during World War II. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1986 and serves as a memorial to the 10,000+ North Carolinians who were lost to the war. Today, it remains moored in Wilmington, North Carolina, and is open to the public every day of the year.

Leave a Reply

